Social media: why making the secret sauce takes skill

I was delighted to find this an excellent article in USA Today that brings up some really good points.

Journalist Laura Petrecca definitely did her homework. Social media is the secret sauce for small businesses and, indeed it takes time and dedication to do social media right.

Social media can broaden and diversify your audience, increase engagement, build awareness, fortify branding and yes, it can even lead to an increase in sales. And it’s not only for companies like Smashburger.

That is why I often find myself integrating social media into marketing plans for clients. Even if I am only hired to write and distribute press releases or write and edit web copy, I try to integrate social media in the mix. To skip these valuable platforms is a big no-no in my book.

I use social media for my own business, NPJ Communications. NPJ Communications has its own Twitter and Pinterest accounts and I use my personal Facebook, Twitter, Google Plus and Linked In to network.

It’s true that social media takes a time investment, consistency and skill. It’s not rocket-science, but it takes time and effort and patience to get real results.

Let’s discuss. What are your thoughts about social media? Are you doing it in-house? What are your challenges? How well has it worked for you?

Leave a Reply

